List Your Equipment  /  Dealer Login

ARTBA Announces 2010 Award Winners

Fri October 15, 2010 - National Edition
Construction Equipment Guide

The American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) recognized transportation construction design and construction industry leaders Oct. 4 with awards during the association’s national convention, held in New York City. The association announced the following division awards:

Nello L. Teer, Jr.: Geoffrey W. Clarke, vice president of construction, New Enterprise Stone & Lime Co., New Enterprise, Pa.

Created in 1988 as a tribute to contractor and Past ARTBA Chairman (1959-61) Nello L. Teer Jr., this award annually honors a contractor member who has made outstanding contributions to the association’s Contractors Division and the transportation construction industry.

Guy Kelcey: John Derr, vice president and regional transportation director for Gannett Fleming in Phoenix, Ariz.

This award, which honors Guy Kelcey, one of the Planning & Design (P&D) Division’s organizers, is given each year to an ARTBA member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association’s P&D Division.

Paul F. Phelan Memorial: Michael Cegelis, senior vice president with American Bridge Company in Coraopolis, Pa.

Established in 1971, it is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the ARTBA Materials and Services Division and the transportation construction industry.

John “Jake” Landen Memorial Highway Safety: Ken Kobetsky, program director for engineering at the American Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials.

Established in 1989 in memory of Traffic Safety Industry Division leader and Past ARTBA Chairman (1976) J.C. Landen, this annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to highway safety.

S.S. Steinberg: Dr. Chandra Bhat, transportation engineering professor at the University of Texas at Austin.

Created in honor of S.S. Steinberg, the founding president of the Research and Education Division, the award recognizes an individual who has made remarkable contributions to transportation education.

P3 “Entrepreneurs of the Year” Award: Amadeo Saenz Jr., executive director of the Texas Department of Transportation (public sector), and Nicolas Rubio, president of Cintra U.S. (private sector).

The Public Private Partnerships (P3) Division annually recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the promotion of P3s that advance transportation improvements.

Today's top stories

Shelly & Sands Aims to Relieve Congestion at 'The Point' in Ohio

Rehabilitation of Quechee Gorge Bridge Under Way in Hartford, Vt.

Caterpillar 6020B Shovel Goes to Work in Coal Country

AEM Welcomes 2024 Officers, New Directors at Annual Conference

DEVELON Equipment On Display at 2024 ARA Show

VIDEO: People Drive Growth, Success of Southwest-Minnesota Company

VTrans Considers Building 200-Mile Bike Path Along U.S. 5 From Massachusetts to Quebec

Burlington, Vt., Expanding Airport to Handle Bigger Planes, More Passengers

aggregateequipmentguide-logo agriculturalequipmentguide-logo craneequipmentguide-logo forestryequipmentguide-logo truckandtrailerguide-logo
39.04690 \\ -77.49030 \\ Ashburn \\ PA