The American Concrete Pumping Association (ACPA) announced the recipients of the 2019 ACPA Awards: Pioneer Award: Roy and Dawn Thompson In 1986, Roy and Dawn Thompson co-founded Hauser, Idaho's Champion Concrete Pumping Inc. Through the years, Champion has pushed to develop the concrete pumping industry in their area and was the first to utilize separate placing booms and bring in big booms to the greater Coeur d'Alene/Spokane area.

The ACPA announced the election of its new executive board at the ACPA Annual Meeting and Awards Presentation on Feb. 5, 2020, in Las Vegas. Elected to serve a one-year term, the newly elected Executive Board includes: Executive Board President: Gary Brown—R.

The American Concrete Pumping Association (ACPA) announced updates to the ACPA Operator Training and Certification Program. Referred to as "Certification 2020," the new program will launch by mid-year 2020 for ACPA operator certification. "The new training and certification program focuses on elevating the quality and effectiveness of operator safety training and will raise the bar for safety in our industry," said Christi Collins, ACPA executive director.

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) has presented its 2019 Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award to Peter Deem, Holcim (U.S.) (retired) and Leet Denton/ACPA Honorary Life Member. The award recognized Deem for his distinguished career and dedicated service to the American Concrete Pavement Association.

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) has recast its honorary life membership and named it in honor of Leet "Ed" Denton, retired president of Denton Enterprises of St. Clair Shores, Mich. Denton also became the first recipient of the namesake membership category.

ACPA presented its 2019 Sustainable Practices Award to the Federal Highway Administration. The award was presented in recognition of leadership in creating a framework for sustainable design and construction practices that consider societal, environmental and economic factors (the triple bottom line).

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) has presented its Lifetime Pavement Recognition Award to the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) in recognition of a section of Virginia State Route 316. Accepting the award was Mike Davis, Hampton Roads deputy district engineer of Construction and Engineering.

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) presented its 2019 Outstanding Pavement Promotion Award to Mike Byers, executive director, Indiana Chapter — ACPA. This award recognizes Byers' leadership in advocating for the use of concrete pavements and his work in improving the design, constructability, preservation and maintenance of Indiana's roads and highways.

ACPA presented its 2019 Marlin J. Knutson Award for Technical Achievement to Paul Jaworski, product manager, Minnich Manufacturing Inc. The award is presented in recognition of Jaworski's more than 40 years of expertise in concrete vibration and consolidation technology.

Michael E. Ayers has been named the executive director of the Illinois Chapter — ACPA. A veteran concrete pavement engineer, Ayers brings to the Illinois Chapter vast and in-depth experience in concrete pavement and cement-based paving solutions.

ACPA presented the 2018 Sustainable Practices Award to the Florida Department of Transportation and Archer Western Construction in recognition of the innovative design-build team which proposed, engineered, and built a 16-ft. wide full-depth concrete shoulder to serve as an emergency lane along State Route 98 in Jacksonville.