List Your Equipment  /  Dealer Login  /  Create Account

TCA Announces Winners of 2012 Safety Awards

Tue November 20, 2012 - National Edition
Construction Equipment Guide

The Tilt-Up Concrete Association (TCA) — a non-profit international organization that serves to expand and improve the use of Tilt-Up as the preferred building system — has announced the winners of the seventh annual safety awards.

The Alphonse J. Engelman Safety Awards Program honors Al Engelman, a TCA past president and board member as well as a long-time supporter of the Tilt-Up industry. Engelman helped introduce this industry awards program that now bears his name.

Developed to enhance the TCA’s overall mission to improve the industry through recognition and education, this program emphasizes the safety commitment and achievement throughout the membership. The winners of the 2012 Alphonse J. Engelman Safety Awards were recognized during TCA’s Annual Convention on Oct. 2 in Amelia Island, Fla.

“This year’s winners exemplify safe work practices on the job site, and these awards highlight the results of their efforts,” said Barclay Gebel, chair of the TCA safety committee. “The TCA continues to increase attention and support of the safety process as we look forward to continued growth of our industry.”

TCA’s Safety Awards Program recognizes companies based on the following categories: Best Tilt-Up Safety Achievement Award, Most Improved Safety Achievement Award, Zero Lost Time Accident Achievement Award, Certificate of Recognition. This year’s winners included a variety of industry contractors:

• Best Tilt-Up Safety Achievement Award/General Contractors: Bob Moore Construction Inc., Panatonni Construction Inc., Haskell Company.

• Best Tilt-Up Safety Achievement Award/Tilt-Up Contractors: SiteCast Construction Corp., Citadel Contractors Inc., Ace/Avant Concrete Construction Company Inc.

• Most Improved Safety Achievement Award: B.D. Stevens Limited.

• Zero Lost Time Accident Achievement Award: B.D. Stevens Limited, Citadel Contractors Inc., Panatonni Construction Inc., E.E. Reed Construction L.P., SiteCast Construction Corp. AML, Inc., Bob Moore Construction Inc., American Constructors Inc., Haskell Company.

These winners were recognized at the 2012 TCA Annual Convention. Submissions were accepted from active TCA members only and consisted of self-performing as well as general contracting companies to any of the six categories. Contractors with a fatality in 2011 were ineligible to receive recognition.

About the TCA

TCA was founded in 1986 to improve the quality and acceptance of site cast Tilt-Up construction, a construction method in which concrete wall panels are cast on-site and tilted into place.

For more information, call 319/895-6911 or visit

Today's top stories

Infrastructure Bill … One Year Later

Crews Construct Caltrans' Longest Single Span

Engineering, Innovation Drive Altoz to New Heights

McCarthy Drives Piles for Solar Farm

Thompson Builds Forges Successful Biz in New York State

Officials Laud Second Largest State Project Milestone

Waterbury, Conn.,Transformation Continues With Mixmaster Project

Messick's Christmas Light Show Returns for 10th Year of Christmas Cheer

ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo
39.04690 \\ -77.49030 \\ Ashburn \\ VA