SPS New England to Use Bridge Lateral Slide Technique for New Span in Mass.

Keep Up To Date with Thousands of Other Readers.

Our newsletters cover the entire industry and only include the interests that you pick. Sign up and see.

Submit Email
No, Thank You.

ARTBA Announces 2003 Award Winners

Fri October 10, 2003 - Southeast Edition

The American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) recently honored industry leaders with awards during the association’s annual meeting, held in Washington, D.C.

ARTBA presented the following awards:

• The Nello L. Teer Jr. Award — Dan P. Shepherd, past president of Shepherd Construction Company Inc., headquartered in Atlanta, GA.

Created as a tribute to contractor and past ARTBA Chairman Nello L. Teer Jr., this award honors a contractor member who has made outstanding contributions to the association’s contractors division and the transportation construction industry as a whole.

• John “Jake” Landen Memorial Highway Safety Award: (Traffic Safety Industry Division) — E. Dean Carlson, former Federal Highway Administration executive director, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials president, and secretary of the Kansas Department of Transportation.

This annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to highway safety.

• Paul F. Phelan Memorial Award — James Bush, account executive, Brokerage Services Division, Arthur J. Gallagher & Company, located in Jackson, MS.

This award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the association, its materials and services division and the transportation construction industry.

• Guy Kelcey Award — Jack Belvedere, senior vice president, CH2M HILL, Oakland, CA.

This award, which honors Guy Kelcey, one of the Planning and Design (P&D) Division’s organizers, is given each year to an ARTBA member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association’s P&D Division.

• Ralph R. Bartelsmeyer Award — Terrell Temple, president of Engineering Plus Inc., in Meridian, MS.

Established in 1983 in memory of Past ARTBA Chairman (1961-63) Ralph R. Bartelsmeyer, the award honors a public official who has demonstrated a strong sense of dedication and service to the association’s transportation officials division and the transportation construction industry.

• S.S. Steinberg Award — Adolf D. May Jr., professor emeritus at the University of California-Berkeley.

Created in honor of S.S. Steinberg, the founding president of ARTBA’s research and education division, this award recognizes an individual who has made remarkable contributions to transportation education.