ARTBA Accepting Applications for the 2003 Roadway Work Zone Safety Awareness Awards

Wed October 15, 2003 - National Edition

Do you know of outstanding efforts to reduce roadway work zone construction accidents, fatalities and injuries through public awareness campaigns? The American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) wants to hear from you! The association is now accepting applications for the 2003 "Roadway Work Zone Safety Awareness Awards."

Sponsored by ARTBA Transportation Development Foundation and the National Safety Council, this annual awards competition recognizes specific programs, education campaigns, news stories or innovations in technology that demonstrate excellence in promoting safety in roadway construction zones.

The awards program is divided into four categories:

Government Outreach

This category recognizes the specific public outreach campaigns or safety programs by federal, state or local government agencies aimed at improving roadway work zone safety.

Private Outreach Campaigns

This category recognizes the efforts of national, state and local private sector organizations, such as construction companies, utility companies or trade associations, that promote roadway work zone safety through implementation of employee and/or public education campaigns and training programs.

Media Coverage

This category honors the efforts of print and broadcast news media organizations for their coverage or public service announcements related to roadway work zone safety.

Innovations in Technology

This category recognizes manufacturers of equipment and products that use innovative technology to improve safety for motorists and workers in and around roadway work zones.

The competition is open to all interested individuals and organizations. An independent panel of judges will evaluate the entries. Applications must be received at The ARTBA Headquarters Building in Washington, D.C., by Wednesday, Nov. 5.

For more information, call 202/289-4434 or visit

The awards will be presented at a special reception on Tuesday, Dec. 2, 2003, in Springfield, IL, as part of the 2003 Midwest Work Zone Safety Conference.