ASA Elects Brian Johnson President for 2014-15 During Annual Meeting

Tue March 18, 2014 - National Edition

Members of the American Subcontractors Association elected Brian Johnson, president, Soil Consultants Inc., a geotechnical engineering and soil testing firm based in Charleston, S.C., to serve as their 2014-15 national president, ASA announced during its annual business meeting on March 8, 2014, in New Orleans. Johnson will take office on July 1, 2014.

“It is a true honor and I am humbled to be chosen as your next ASA president for 2014-15,” Johnson said. “Over my 30 years attending ASA functions on a local, state and national level, I have met many great people. These individuals have helped me both personally and professionally to help better my family business. Not only do you meet the great people of ASA, but also you find lifelong friends who are always on your side to help.”

Johnson currently serves as the 2013-14 ASA vice president and is a member of the ASA executive committee, finance committee and the task force on meetings. He was first elected to the ASA board of directors in 2008. Johnson has more than a decade of service with ASA of the Carolinas, including serving as president in 2007-08, and currently serves on the ASAC board of directors.

As ASA president, Johnson will preside at meetings of ASA’s board of directors, executive committee, and the membership of the association. He also will serve as the principal spokesperson of the association and appoint the chairs, vice chairs and members of ASA committees and task forces.

Johnson succeeds 2013-14 ASA President Jack Austhof, Sobie Company Inc., Dutton, Mich.

Letitia Haley Barker, Haley-Greer Inc., Dallas, Texas, will serve as 2014-15 ASA vice president; Robert Abney, F.L. Crane & Sons Inc., Southaven, Miss., will serve as 2014-15 ASA treasurer; and Jeff Banker, Banker Insulation, Chandler, Ariz., will serve as 2014-15 ASA secretary.

ASA members elected two national directors to three-year terms beginning on July 1, 2014: Shannon MacArthur, MEMCO Inc., Spring, Texas; and Vince Irwin, Irwin Products, St. Louis, Mo.

For more information, visit