Atkins Appointed as SCDOT Chairman

Thu April 10, 2008 - Southeast Edition
Construction Equipment Guide

South Carolina Department of Transportation Commissioner F. Hugh Atkins has become chairman of the commission, succeeding Bobby T. Jones whose term has expired.

Atkins of Spartanburg has represented the 4th Congressional District as an SCDOT commissioner since 2006. He previously served on the commission from 1998 to 2002 and was named vice chairman earlier this year.

Atkins fills the chairman post held by Jones, of the 5th Congressional District, since August 2007. A three-term commissioner, Jones’ term expired March 20.

Atkins has in the past 40 years served in leadership positions in the real estate industry, including time as president of the Spartanburg and South Carolina Homebuilders Associations, president of the Spartanburg Board of Realtors and director of the Spartanburg Area Chamber of Commerce, where he served as chairman of the chamber’s Transportation Committee.

In 1995, he received the state’s highest honor, the Order of the Palmetto, recognizing his many years of service on various boards and commissions, including as chairman of the Spartanburg County Planning and Development Commission, chairman of the Permanent Advisory Council, State Development Board, Clemson University Board of Visitors, Spartanburg Technical Education Commission and others.

In 2002, Atkins received the South Carolina Homebuilder’s Keystone Award for lifetime dedication to the home building industry.

Today's top stories

Lane Leads $135M Sunscoast Parkway Extension

VIDEO: New York's Plan to Replace Aging I-81 Viaduct in Syracuse Finally Comes into Focus

Allied Industrial Partners Acquires Cat Entertainment Services

Solid Performance in Second Quarter for Volvo Construction Equipment

Brasfield & Gorrie Brings Grandview Project to Life

Hills Machinery Opens ReNew Centers at Three Branches

S.C. Congresswoman Mace Tours May-RHI, Talks Infrastructure Plan, Industry Concerns

Highway Cap Over I-95 at Philly's Penn's Landing Delayed Another Two Years


ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo