Georgia Transportation Board Elects Evans as New Chairman

Wed July 19, 2006 - Southeast Edition

The Georgia Transportation Board June 15 elected Mike Evans as chairman.

Evans represents the 10th Congressional District on the 13-member board and replaces David Doss of Rome as chairman.

“Evans shows an interest in total operations of transportation in Georgia,” said Garland Pinholster, who nominated Evans as chair.

Prior to joining the board in 2003, Evans was a member of the Georgia House of Representatives from 1993 until 2001 and was the Republican Caucus Leader from 1995 to 2001.

For the past two years, Evans has served as vice chairman and has worked to make the department more effective and reach the strategic goals of the governor’s initiative to make Georgia one of the best-run states, a cohesive goal he shared with Doss.

“I am glad to have Mr. Evans as the chairman, he has been an untiring public servant and I am looking forward to working together,” said Commissioner Harold Linnenkohl.

Doss served two consecutive terms as chairman of the board and will remain on the board to represent the 11th congressional district.

“I appreciate the honor and opportunity to serve as chairman,” Doss said.

Also, Pinholster of Ball Ground was elected as board vice chairman. Pinholster succeeds Evans as vice chairman.

The State Transportation Board is comprised of 13 members representing each of Georgia’s 13 congressional districts. Board members are elected by a legislative caucus that is made up of members of the Georgia House of Representatives and Senate representing the districts.

Elections of board members are staggered with two members being elected each year. Elected to five-year terms, board members have general control and supervision of the Department of Transportation, including authority to name the Commissioner of Transportation. Evans will be up for re-election by a legislative caucus when his current term expires in 2008.