List and Sell Your Equipment  /  Dealer Login  /  Create Account

State Transportation Board Re-elects Chairman, Vice President for 2011-12

Fri July 08, 2011 - Southeast Edition
Construction Equipment Guide

Rudy Bowen of Gwinnett County and Johnny Floyd of Cordele were unanimously re-elected chairman and vice-chairman (respectively) of the State Transportation Board. They will serve in the posts throughout fiscal 2012, which began July 1 and ends June 30, 2012. It is the second term in these positions for each leader.

“I’m honored,” Bowen said. “I think we’ve made real progress on transportation in Georgia in the past year and I look forward to even more accomplishments in the coming year and beyond. This is a very good Board doing very important work for the people of this state.”

Floyd, who served nearly 20 years in the Georgia House of Representatives before being elected to the Transportation Board in 2008, agreed. “There’s so much we still have to do for transportation throughout Georgia that we sometimes forget we already have one of the best, if not the very best, system in the entire country. But we can still make it better and we will.”

Bowen, a successful retired businessman, is serving his second, five-year term on the Board, having first been elected in 2007.

He’s been a member of the Lake Lanier Recreational Authority, the Gwinnett Airport Authority, the Gwinnett County Board of Appeals and several corporate boards.

In his first Board term, Floyd, who also chairs the Administrative Committee, is a prominent Cordele businessman and a member and past president of the city’s Rotary Club.

The State Transportation Board determines policy and exercises general governance of Georgia’s Department of Transportation. The Board’s 13 members, representing each of the state’s congressional districts, serve staggered, five-year terms. Board members are elected by those state senators and representatives whose legislative districts fall within all or part of the relevant congressional district.

For more information, visit CEG

Today's top stories

Manhattan Construction Earns AGC Award for $1.1B Globe Life Stadium Project

Proposed Rollback of NEPA Reforms Conflicts With Biden's Infrastructure Goals

Case to Host Live Virtual Event on Machine Control for Dozers, Motor Graders

New Holland Construction Introduces B75D Economy Class Loader Backhoe

Integration of Topcon 3D-MC With Volvo Active Control Raises Bar in Excavation Precision

LeeBoy Signs Three Dealers in Virginia

Sales Auction Company Holds 12th Annual Fall Auction

NCDOT to Widen, Raise I-95 Through Lumberton to Prevent Floods


ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo