List Your Equipment  /  Dealer Login  /  Create Account

ARTBA Announces 2019 Division Award Winners

Thu September 26, 2019 - National Edition

Guy Kelcey Award winner Susan Martinovich, (R), with presenter Ben Biller of Burns & McDonnell.
Guy Kelcey Award winner Susan Martinovich, (R), with presenter Ben Biller of Burns & McDonnell.

On Sept. 23, The American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) recognized transportation design and construction industry leaders with division awards at the association's National Convention in Savannah, Ga. The association announced the following honorees:

Nello L. Teer Jr.: Denise M. Richardson, former executive director, General Contractors Association of New York

Created in 1988 as a tribute to contractor and Past ARTBA Chairman (1959-61) Nello L. Teer Jr., this award honors a member who has made outstanding contributions to the association's Contractors Division and the transportation construction industry.

Guy Kelcey: Susan Martinovich, national highway market director, Jacobs, Carson City, Nev.

The award, which honors Guy Kelcey, one of the Planning & Design (P&D) Division's organizers, is given each year to an ARTBA member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association's P&D Division.

Paul F. Phelan Memorial: Christopher J. Brasco, senior partner, Watt, Tieder, Hoffar & Fitzgerald

Established in 1971, this award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the ARTBA Materials & Services Division and the transportation construction industry as a whole.

John "Jake" Landen Memorial Highway Safety Awards (public and private sector): Jim Pline, retired chief engineer of the Idaho Transportation Department in Boise, and Sue Reiss, national sales manager with Impact Recovery Systems in San Antonio, Texas

Presented in June, the award was established in 1989 in memory of Traffic Safety Industry Division leader and Past ARTBA Chairman (1976) J.C. Landen to recognize outstanding contributions to highway safety.

S.S. Steinberg Award: Denver Tolliver, director of the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute at North Dakota State University

Presented earlier this year, this award honors the founding president of the Research and Education Division and recognizes an individual who has made remarkable contributions to transportation education.

For more information, visit

Today's top stories

DOT Pauses 'Buy America' Provision to Provide Relief to Already Strained Industry

Pennsylvania Contractor Takes Delivery of First Doosan DD100 Dozer

Wirtgen Slipform Pavers Bring Numerous Innovations, World Premiere to bauma 2022

Granite Tackles California Congestion Issue With $700M '101 in Motion' Project

Blanchard Machinery CEO, President Joe Blanchard Passes at Age 60

Alabama's Bank Independent to Build $60M, Four-Story Muscle Shoals Complex

Hitachi's Sam Shelton Retires After 27 Years With Company

Former Owner of Highway Equipment Company Dies, 84


ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo
39.04690 \\ -77.49030 \\ Ashburn \\ VA