ASSE, Cintas Want to Hear Innovative Safety Idea

Mon February 16, 2015 - National Edition

The American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) and Cintas Corporation, a leader in first-aid and safety programs, announced that nominations for its 2015 Award for Innovation in Occupational Safety Managementare now open. The winner will receive $3,000, a recognition plaque and travel and accommodations for Safety 2015, ASSE’s annual professional development conference in Dallas in June 2015.

“When workers are engaged in developing a safe workplace culture, everyone wins,” said ASSE President Trish Ennis. “Last year’s award competition drew creative nominations from organizations spanning the globe, so we’re excited to see what safety ideas will be submitted this time around.”

Submissions for the award should highlight a workplace challenge and an employee’s unique solution to the issue, which was either developed or implemented within the last five years. Benefits associated with the innovation may include elimination or reduction of hazards, improved safety knowledge or efficiency improvements. A panel of industry experts will consider the innovation’s safety and management benefits, and the potential for applying the innovation across multiple programs or sites. Both ASSE members and non-members are eligible for the award, and nominations can be submitted by safety managers or employees on behalf of themselves or another individual.

Ali Hasan Al-Failakawi, an occupational safety and health team leader of the Kuwait Oil Co., was named the winner of the 2014 award for developing a road safety program that encouraged safer driving and substantially reduced motor vehicle accidents involving workers. The oil and gas utility employs more than 30,000 employees who travel more than 5 million miles monthly.

“Every organization needs to keep safety at the forefront to ensure that employees make it home after each shift,” said Rick Gerlach, director of safety and health, Cintas Corporation. “Fostering an environment of innovation can help safety programs better identify and address risks in the workplace.”

Nominations must be received by March 31, 2015. To submit a nomination online, visit