List Your Equipment  /  Dealer Login  /  Create Account

ARTBA Announces 2011 Award Winners

Fri October 07, 2011 - National Edition
Construction Equipment Guide

The American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) recognized transportation design and construction industry leaders Oct. 4 with awards during the association’s national convention, held in Monterey, Calif. The association announced the following honorees:

• Nello L. Teer, Jr.: Bill Cox, president, Corman Construction in Annapolis Junction, Md.

Created in 1988 as a tribute to contractor and Past ARTBA Chairman (1959-61) Nello L. Teer Jr., it annually honors a contractor member who has made outstanding contributions to the association’s contractors division and the transportation construction industry.

• Guy Kelcey: Bob Close, vice president of Parsons Brinckerhoff, in Orange, Calif.

This award, which honors Guy Kelcey, one of the planning and design (P&D) division’s organizers, is given each year to an ARTBA member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association’s P&D division.

• John “Jake” Landen Memorial Highway Safety: Robert Hull, Utah Department of Transportation engineer for traffic and safety; and Owen Denman, retired president and CEO of Rio Vista, California-based Barrier Systems.

Established in 1989 in memory of Traffic Safety Industry Division leader and Past ARTBA Chairman (1976) J.C. Landen, this annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to highway safety.

• S.S. Steinberg: Melissa Tooley, center director of the Texas Transportation Institute’s University Transportation Center for Mobility, in College Station.

Created in honor of S.S. Steinberg, the founding president of the research and education division, the award recognizes an individual who has made remarkable contributions to transportation education.

• Distinguished Leadership Award: Larry Russell spent six years at ARTBA before assuming the top post at the Southern California Contractors Association in September. At ARTBA, he served with distinction, earning the titles vice president, development and field operations; managing director of the planning and design division; and executive director of the ARTBA High Speed Rail Development Council. Under his leadership, ARTBA also successfully established a national field operation and four regional leadership teams that have led to significantly expanded membership development, participation and growth.

Today's top stories

Hoar Construction Leads $157M UAB Medical Facility Project

Volvo CE Launches Three Compact Assist Packages for Volvo Soil Compactors

Unstoppable Rise of Compact Track Loader

Manufacturers, Fuel Providers Want Seat at Emissions Regulation Table

Infrastructure Investment Law Is Working, ARTBA Chair Paula Hammond Tells Congressional Subcommittee

Wacker Neuson Zero-Emission Equipment Powered by Battery One

Taylor Machine Works Announces ZH-360L Battery Electric Forklift for All Industries

BJ Excavating Provides Cleanup After Hurricane Ian

ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo ceg-logo
39.04690 \\ -77.49030 \\ Ashburn \\ PA