List Your Equipment  /  Dealer Login

FHWA Announces NJDOT as Winner of Safety Award

Mon December 11, 2017 - Northeast Edition #25
Construction Equipment Guide

The New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) is one of the year's nine National Roadway Safety Award winners.
The New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) is one of the year's nine National Roadway Safety Award winners.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Roadway Safety Foundation has announced the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) as one of the year's nine National Roadway Safety Award winners, which represent noteworthy examples of innovation in highway safety.

"These awards recognize real and innovative solutions to some of the nation's biggest safety challenges," said Brandye L. Hendrickson, acting Federal Highway administrator. "We commend New Jersey for its efforts in saving lives and reducing injuries on our nation's roads, and invite others across the country to put such life-saving solutions to work."

New Jersey won for installing a roundabout at the intersection of CR 528 and CR 660 in Chesterfield, Burlington County, in 2014 that has eliminated right-angle and left-turn crashes. Public support of the roundabout led to three more roundabouts in other parts of Burlington County, and the promotion of additional roundabouts throughout the state.

"Modern roundabouts are a successful way to improve safety at locations where crashes and accidents are prevalent. NJDOT is employing a data-driven approach to help engineers identify where the modern roundabout can be used most effectively, as well as to communicate the safety benefits to the public," said Richard T. Hammer, NJDOT commissioner. "In addition to promoting roundabouts on state routes, the Department has initiated a pilot program for local roads to encourage the use of this proven safety countermeasure. The roundabout at the intersection of Routes 528 and 660 in Burlington County demonstrates how this innovative roadway design can improve safety for motorists and pedestrians alike."

The biennial competition, which began in 1999, is an acknowledgement of successful approaches to improving roadway safety at the state and local level, officials said. Applicants are encouraged to nominate projects or programs that exemplify innovative and effective safety activities, and which maximize the cost effectiveness of federal, state, local and/or private sector funds.

"The National Roadway Safety Awards are an opportunity to recognize the unsung heroes who plan, engineer and implement creative measures to help save lives on a daily basis and rarely receive credit for doing so," said RSF Executive Director Gregory Cohen.

For more information, visit

Today's top stories

VDOT Oversees $3.9B Hampton Roads Bridge Tunnel Project

Work Progresses On KYTC's $740M U.S. 460 Project

Cavs Unveil Plans for Riverfront Cleveland Clinic Global Park

Ignite Attachments Disrupts Equipment Industry With Fit Finder

Delaware Memorial Bridge's 'Dolphins' Designed to Stop Big Ships From Striking It

ASCENDUM to Compete in Global Volvo Technician Event

Sold Auction Co. Draws Bidders to Sale in Lexington, S.C.

Strategic Agreements Integrate Topcon Technology Into Solutions From Bentley Systems, Worldsensing


aggregateequipmentguide-logo agriculturalequipmentguide-logo craneequipmentguide-logo forestryequipmentguide-logo truckandtrailerguide-logo
39.04690 \\ -77.49030 \\ Ashburn \\ PA