American Concrete Pavement Association

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) has presented its 2019 Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award to Peter Deem, Holcim (U.S.) (retired) and Leet Denton/ACPA Honorary Life Member. The award recognized Deem for his distinguished career and dedicated service to the American Concrete Pavement Association.

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) has recast its honorary life membership and named it in honor of Leet "Ed" Denton, retired president of Denton Enterprises of St. Clair Shores, Mich. Denton also became the first recipient of the namesake membership category.

ACPA presented its 2019 Sustainable Practices Award to the Federal Highway Administration. The award was presented in recognition of leadership in creating a framework for sustainable design and construction practices that consider societal, environmental and economic factors (the triple bottom line).

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) has presented its Lifetime Pavement Recognition Award to the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) in recognition of a section of Virginia State Route 316. Accepting the award was Mike Davis, Hampton Roads deputy district engineer of Construction and Engineering.

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) presented its 2019 Outstanding Pavement Promotion Award to Mike Byers, executive director, Indiana Chapter — ACPA. This award recognizes Byers' leadership in advocating for the use of concrete pavements and his work in improving the design, constructability, preservation and maintenance of Indiana's roads and highways.

ACPA presented its 2019 Marlin J. Knutson Award for Technical Achievement to Paul Jaworski, product manager, Minnich Manufacturing Inc. The award is presented in recognition of Jaworski's more than 40 years of expertise in concrete vibration and consolidation technology.

Michael E. Ayers has been named the executive director of the Illinois Chapter — ACPA. A veteran concrete pavement engineer, Ayers brings to the Illinois Chapter vast and in-depth experience in concrete pavement and cement-based paving solutions.

The American Concrete Pavement Association's board of directors has approved a resolution formally supporting the recently released consensus report, "Renewing the National Commitment to the Interstate Highway System: A Foundation for the Future." The report and plan were the result of language in the Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act of 2015 (FAST Act), which called for the Transportation Research Board (TRB) to conduct a study on the actions needed to upgrade and restore the Interstate and Defense Highway System.

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) supports the nomination of Nicole R. Nason as the next administrator of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). Nason is the former National Highway Traffic Safety Administrator (NHTSA); previously served on the board of directors of Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD); and has vast experience with both the Executive and Legislative branches of the Federal government.

ACPA presented the 2018 Sustainable Practices Award to the Florida Department of Transportation and Archer Western Construction in recognition of the innovative design-build team which proposed, engineered, and built a 16-ft. wide full-depth concrete shoulder to serve as an emergency lane along State Route 98 in Jacksonville.

The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) has recognized two long-life pavements with the association's Lifetime Pavement Recognition Award. The City of Boulder, Colo. , was in recognized with an award for a four-block section of Mapleton Avenue, a location of great importance to a vibrant city.